Living With

The morning breeze today was alluring to say the least…too beautiful a morning to just let go..the clouds above the swaying trees made for a perfect and blissful yoga and meditation experience. Post that, an inspiration struck, leading to this blog post. It has been ages since I last wrote a blogpost here..so bear with me if it seems a bit rustic.

I know I am not the only one who feels that this year, 2021, seemed as if it was not there..as if we catapulted straight into November from January. Yes, there were events and some significant things that happened but by and large, this year has just whizzed past. It has had a very different quality as compared to the last year, which had seemed a lot like figuring out survival for the most part.

This year, for me, has brought to light all that I had been living with..the thoughts, feelings, work, body conditions, relationships and even dreams. Various situations have bared the true nature of all these things and their place in my life. Surprisingly, I found that I was still carrying a fair bit of junk that I had accepted as ‘part of life’. If I were to describe what I have been doing this year, I would say, primarily, ‘cleaning up’. I have been cleaning up the left over debris of my feelings post some distasteful interactions, I have been letting go those aspects of me, including values, that had been serving those around me, at the cost of being a heavy burden to carry. I have reassessed my bodily age and its condition and have returned to a wholesome place of being, deciding to not give into an exercise regime simply because I should, but, instead, to be present with what I am being called to do in that moment. I have decided to reform, reboot, restart and redo life.

I have come to the realization that what is, perhaps, most important decision through our life, is what we choose to live with and how closely we hold all that we choose. It is about attachment to our choices, yes, but before that, it is about the field we create with all that we choose. Do we choose to live a life with a bodily condition that we believe cannot be changed? If we were to challenge this belief, we would perhaps, not rest till we have found a cure for it. Reading stories of many people who have recovered from terminal illnesses and defied all scientific knowledge, we know this is possible, should we choose to believe it. Do we choose to live our life with the belief that our life circumstances cannot change, no matter what? If we do, indeed believe this thought, then we will spend the remainder of our lives reinforcing this belief, denying ourselves other possibilities because they would bring us to an uncomfortable new ground of discovery. Do we choose to live with the idea that we belong to a certain place and set of people and let that define us in such a way that it gets in the way of life’s adventure? Do we believe we have to live with the work we do and limit ourselves in our thoughts and dreams, not allowing them to take the flight of fancy?

What we choose to live with, defines us. If we choose to let go, we open ourselves to the magic of surrender in a world of infinite possibilities.

What do you choose to live with?

Who do you choose to live with?

What values do you choose to live with?

What burdens do you choose to live with?

…..

How would it be to live without these..?

Leave a comment