Dealing with the Deal

having_control_over-107526I write this blog today with a very mixed set of emotions. I went to visit a friend of mine in the hospital who, I learned only during my conversation with her, had tried to commit suicide.

While I do deal with shocks in a seemingly calm manner most times, I do spend a lot of time thinking about the associated whys and the what ifs.

On my way back, I was thinking about the person I used to know and the events that had transpired in her life which might have led her to take such an action. Nothing I could think of, no reason, could justify her actions except the fact that she had perhaps chosen to pass her turn instead of dealing with what was in hand.

We all get a deal in life, don’t we? We start there. We choose how to play our cards. We choose what we want to do amidst the situations we find ourselves in. Those situations may or may not be in our control but what we choose to do with them, most certainly is.

It takes guts to commit to dealing with all the deals life has to offer. If there is anything worth our time, effort and energy, this is it. Not the investments we need to make or the new things money can buy, but dealing with our deals.

We all have the power to turn things around or to start looking at life from a different perspective any time we want. In fact, who knows, that might be one of the reasons people looking for meaning in life end up going to mountain tops instead of from under the sea. The top puts things in perspective – shows you the possibilities and what the world has to offer you.

Choose to deal with life. We do, after all, live only once.

2 thoughts on “Dealing with the Deal

Leave a comment